A small office in the making (or the zero budget project) – part 1

Standard

One of the main things I wanted to do while at home, and before the Easter break, was to tidy up the house. This is a very ambitious plan, considering the amount of stuff we have been collecting throughout the years and how attached to these stuff we are. On top of that, I also challenged myself to spend as little as possible, using basically things I have already got at home.

I started with our box room, as it was by far the most messy place in the house (maybe just behind the garage). Our tiny room is the place where we dump stuff when we want the house to look ok, especially when we have visitors over. To add insult to injury, this room hasn’t been cleaned in several months, just because it is impossible to even get in.

This will be a series of posts where I will show the before, the during and the after of our home office makeover. Tips, constructive criticism and ideas are more than welcome. So here we go…

The messy room, as it was:

An old rug, old stair gates that we removed ages ago, two printers, one Silhouette Cameo, shirts to iron, and a bag of whatever on the floor.

 

Eeeer…. stuff. This is showing the space partially empty: the vacuum cleaner and the ironing board used to be on the right, where it is slightly empty now.

 

More and more stuff… there is more stuff to the top. This archive was partially destroyed when someone(s) broke into our house and the drawers don’t close properly.

 

I kept a bunch of bags – including those reusable shopping bags – behind the door. Not in the picture: there is a small unit with drawers behind the door as well, making the door hard to open in full.

 

First step was deciding to remove the ironing board+iron and vacuum cleaner out and placing them somewhere else. Finding somewhere else is always a challenge, so I had to empty one door in our wardrobe, where we stored heavy winter coats. We hardly ever used them, so making the decision of giving them to charity wasn’t too hard. An infiltration in the past left this area humid and mouldy, so I had to give it a good clean, polish it and pain it. I had left over paint at home, it wasn’t the right colour, but who cares?

Scary job: I’m so clumsy and so not patience that I was sure I was going to drop paint everywhere. Didn’t happen. Phew!

 

After the first coat of paint, the stains were still very much visible… and I thought it would be a simple job.

 

img_1472

After 3 coats of paint, everything was ready to be moved in. It’s a tiny space, but we could fit it all.

Then I tried sorting out the mess still in the room. I wanted to get rid of things before I even started cleaning it. It was a pain. It was too much to sort, too little space to spread things out, I had no clue what I had in mind. I have a massive problem trying to picture spaces in my head, especially when it is already packed.

I knew I had to get rid of a lot of things, our stuff wouldn’t even fit in the office if we wanted to keep them all. Well, they would fit in but there would be no space for us in the room.

Unplanned tidying up. I managed to remove some bits, throw others away, but I ran out of time and started feeling claustrophobic and anxious in this space.

So my first day was all about painting the space where the vacuum cleaner/ironing things would be – 3 coats, waiting a couple of hours in between to dry, throwing bits and pieces away. It felt like a wasted day, but I know it wasn’t. It just made me extremely anxious and overwhelmed with the task.

Next post: spreading the mess throughout – deconstructing to reconstruct.

img_1341

Landing area after moving some stuff out of the room.

 

Leave a Reply

