Best Mother’s Day present

Standard

This year I got two non-convencional gifts for Mother’s day. Neither were given with Mother’s Day in mind, but worked pretty well to me.

The first one came in February, half term week to be precise. Hubby took the girls to Romania and I got to spend a whole-full-entire (yes, redundancy) week all by myself! It was a first, people, and it was brilliant!

Here is the part I say: don’t get me wrong, I love my girls more than anything. Most of the times, it’s me not wanting them to be apart, but knowing that they are safe and around with their father made me feel ok with the whole idea.

I had four days off at work as well, so morning, afternoon and evening all by myself. I was so desperately needing some time on my own that I couldn’t get myself out of the house. My time was all spent watching TV (I watched the Lord of the Rings trilogy and caught up with new Criminal Minds), which I never do, listening to music I like and sorting out bits and bobs around the house. I even got the hallway/landing area painted, after several months just planning.

 

The wall that needed painting

The wall that needed painting (back in June 2015)

 

Now looking shiny and new. (the whole wall, landing area and hallway were painted)

 

The second gift was actually a Christmas present, that was only good to use in March. The date was an “accident”, as Mr. C doesn’t have a clue when Mother’s Day is; it just happened to be the very last presentation of Cirque du Soleil’s Amaluna (Ama Luna?). He got us amazing seats, very close to the stage, and it was an adult-only event for us. I’m a big fan since I first saw them (on TV) and since I moved to the UK, we used to go every year. Until Laura was born that is. It was an amazing day for both of us, we had lunch at a Japanese restaurant in South Kensington, no rush, no stress, no trying to keep the kids quiet at their seats. We went to the V&A (my first time there, not sure why I haven’t been before). We had an interrupted conversation for hours!

The V&A – a lovely museum

 

The Royal Albert Hall is one of my favourite venues in London. Just being there makes me happy. RAH + Cirque du Soleil = dream! We were five rows from the stage, so close that the actors were a meter from us when performing near the audience. Luckily we were in the middle of the row, as they tend to pick people on the borders (I must admit that I would have loved if they got my phone to take some selfies).

Where is Wally? I mean, Mr. C… This is the lateral view of the stage, with our seats just in front of it.

 

One of the performers interacting with the audience. No zoom in this photo.

 

At the very end… I missed these performers “flying” over heads.

Although it was a great day and evening without kids, we also said how much Laura would have enjoyed the presentation. Beatrice is too young for it and would probably be scared or bored (there was a boy screaming in the middle of the show, roughly Bea’s age). Most of the artists were women, including the whole band (the director as well). We wanted Laura to see it and see how women can play any instrument and type of music, if they want to, and maybe get inspired. Laura always mentions “this is for boys”, “this is for girls” and we try to show her that there is no such thing.

I got all excited to go again next year; I don’t even care if it is a Christmas-Mother’s Day all in one celebration again.

Leave a Reply

