February has come and has gone

Standard

Such a short month; I haven’t even noticed it happened and it’s March already. 

The theory of the 21 days is rubbish. At least for me. My theory is:

Bad habits might take 21 days to sink in. Bad habits normally involved things that have some sort of addictive substance in it, like eating too much sugar, smoking, drinking alcohol. To create a habit within 21 days, this habit has to bring some sort of addictive benefit with it.

I do believe that it is possible to create a habit of exercising daily, if one is strong enough to start and maintain it for 21 days. I do not believe that putting body lotion every night can become a habit. I tried and I am lucky if I do it 4 days a week. Not to worry, I’m now back to the strongest moisturiser I ever found and if I skip a day, my legs aren’t dry the following day as with the previous (crap) body lotion I had.

Interestly, I’m more strict with the face cream routine. Maybe it’s easier to remember and having a mirror in front of me helps, maybe there’s less area to cover, maybe because the face is always exposed, I don’t know. But since I started this routine, I might have missed a day or two. I have been even adventurous and added a few extra steps (especial soap to clean, sometimes even a toner, which I don’t know what’s for but, hey, it was a 2-4-1 promotion).

Bedtime with the girls has also been a fiasco. We would put them in their beds, they would come back, and every day for the 21 days (and more) went on like this. Beatrice being the worst of the two. It got ugly, so ugly, I moved to the guest room. It’s been 4 nights and guess what?! I’m totally used to it, it can easily become a habit and I don’t even need to do it for 21 days.

So my theory of these 21 days is that, as long as it’s comvenient to you, as long as bring you some sort of immediate physical and mental reward, it works. Otherwise it’s just a torture. It’s like stop smoking… 21 days is nothing to a smoker. 21 months is more like it. 21 years without smoking to make it a habit.

P.S.: I’m sleeping better in the guest room but am sleepier than ever. How come?

Leave a Reply

