My very first (UK) hen do

Standard

Last month I went to my very first hen do in the UK. I got married here, but I didn’t have one. My friend L (Bea’s Godmother) is getting married end of July and a group of girls went to Oxford to have a girls only weekend. It was Beatrice’s birthday and my first time away from her. Should I feel guilty for sleeping so well on a king size bed only for me? If I should, let me know now and I will pretend I am.

The theme of the weekend was Alice in Wonderland. It started with an afternoon tea on a boat cruise in the Thames river, following the route taken by Lewis Carrol in 1862, when he conceived the adventures of Alice. The cruise took about two hours and we passed by stunning locations, but we were too busy drinking tea (and coffee and bubblies), chatting and playing games to pay much attention. We went to a pub afterwards and in the evening we head off to a comedy club. In between, L had to do all sort of things and take photos and I must say that I was impressed that she took everything in such good spirits. I don’t think I would have done half of what she did. After the comedy show, half of us (mostly the Brazilians) went back to the hotel, while the other half (mostly the British) stayed another couple of hours, drinking and dancing. I was very tired and sleepy and by breasts were exploding (still breastfeeding, remember?) and I was so looking forward a great night of sleep… I knew L would understand. hehe

It was a lovely weekend, with great girls, fun activities and laughter. I had forgotten how a comedy show can be a great evening programme (as an alternative to night clubs or pubs), I should do this more often.

 

 

20140609-002853-1733352.jpg

20140609-002853-1733490.jpg

20140609-002853-1733186.jpg

20140609-002852-1732360.jpg

2 responses »

  1. Hahaha! Que divertido essa história de “fim de semana temático”! rs

    Cris, acompanho seus blogs há um tempão (acho que desde a gravidez da Bea ou um pouquinho antes), mas nunca tinha me manifestado…
    Mas agora achei que o míniamente mais educado era deixar a timidez de lado e vir dar um ‘hola’! rs

    Beijos

Leave a Reply

