Babies, mine and theirs

Standard

My in laws arrived this morning. Laura went with her grandfather to the park and Beatrice was in her grandmother’s arm most of the day. It is quite funny to see Laura’s confusion with the three languages and the meaning of words. She is calling her grandfather “vovo Beto”, who is my mother’s partner’s name (vovo is granddad, if you don’t know Portuguese). I told her that vovo Beto is in Brazil, and it is vovo Vacile Vasile(*) who is here; but because of my pronunciation – I say “vasili” – Laura has been calling him “vovo Silly”. Sometimes she calls him tata (which is dad in Romanian, but it is how kids calls their grandfathers in the region they come from; tati (daddy) being for the actual father). On the grandmother side, it isn’t different. She was already calling my mother buni (short for bunica, which is grandmother in Romanian), but since they also say Mama for grandmother (same explanation of Tata), she called her grandmother “Mum” a couple of times. I don’t think she knows the difference between all these words. I have to say that I get confused as well. By the end of the month we were all be calling each other by “hey you” to avoid all the confusion.

(*) I keep writing his name wrong, “vacile” is pronounced “VAchilE” and means the cows. Ops.

*******

So, if you live in Planet Earth you know that William and Kate had their baby boy a couple of days ago. People are either too excited with the news or too fed up. I have to say that I love everything about any pregnancy and birth, so I find everything exciting. Yes, it is a bit of a carnival, but who can blame them? It is a bit of a carnival in Rio at the moment with the Pope’s visit (let’s not get into details). I thought it was funny that the newspaper The Sun changed its name to The Son (it wouldn’t have been the case if it was a baby girl, uh?).

Newspapers covers announcing the royal birth

Newspapers covers announcing the royal birth

And all this baby talk makes me broody. Not just the royal baby talk, but finding out that a close friend is pregnant again, another one is finally on the 3rd semester and another one will give birth just after her 1st daughter turns 1 year old. I look at my very own Beatrice, so small, cute, and adorable, and I want to go back to the last days of pregnancy and live those final moments again, give birth again and hold that teeny tiny little baby in my arms again. I feel like there is even a big possibility of having a third one. But then I remember that kids grow and become teenagers and, geez, no thanks.

2 responses »

  1. hahahaha o final foi ótimo! Eu falo pro Rodrigo que eu tenho o maior prazer em criar a Zoe até ela completar 12 anos. Depois é com ele até os 18. Tenho pavor de imaginar que um bebezinho tão indefeso e lindo vai se tornar um protótipo de ser humano rebelde e que, independentemente do que você faça, vai sentir vergonha de você. Eu sei, eu sei, tô exagerando, mas é que eu e Rodrigo fomos adolescentes difíceis, então não dá pra esperar menos que isso!
    Ai amiga, você sabe, não vejo a hora! Terceiro trimestre bateu na porta e ao mesmo tempo que sei que vou sentir falta de estar grávida (pq é mesmo um barato) não me aguento de pensar em como vai ser o rostinho dela, o cheirinho…
    Outra coisa que adoro observar nos seus posts é a questão do idioma… com a Laura e a Bea são 3 pra administrar mas no final das contas acho que elas vão tirar de letra apesar a confusão aparente!
    Um terceiro? Não se culpe… eu nem pari o primeiro e já tô pensando no segundo 😛

    Beijos, love you!

    • Acho que fazemos parte do mesmo clube, das que curtem tanto a gravidez quanto o bebe em si. Algumas maes detestam a gravidez e acabam nem querendo mais filhos por isso. Sabe o que eh pior em relacao a filho adolescente? Eu sou uma pessoa muito dificil, tenho medo de torturar as meninas adolescentes porque eu realmente nao tenho saco – sou das maes que vai ter vergonha das peraltices de adolescente (das roupas, dos cabelos, da maquiagem… nossa, capaz de fingir que nao conheco se passar na rua. hahahaha). Sei la, tenho muito medo de fazer tudo errado e acabar com duas adolescentes gravidas em casa. :-S Se elas pudesse ficar sempre pequetitinhas…

Leave a Reply

