Umbilical cord: when to cut it (literally)

Standard

Another article to confuse help mums when they give birth: this one is about the importance of not cutting the umbilical cord straight after birth. Apparently now doctors say it is best to wait from anything between 30 seconds until it stops pulsing naturally, which can be between 2 and 5 minutes. This will prevent kids to have anaemia and iron deficiency at later age. Now… the question is: will all midwives in the country accept this request from the parents? I hope we remember to tell this at the hospital when I’m in labour.

4 responses »

  1. Hi! I have the same question and same request. I’ve heard both things, that it’s good and that it’s not that important, still doing my share of research to figure it out. We just hired a doula so I’m very excited to have assistance on my natural birth at the hospital! 4 months to go!

    • Wow, it went quite quickly! I wasn’t sure about the doula, I didn’t have one first time and maybe it would have been a great choice, as the first time is so much harder… at least in my head seems much harder to understand what’s going on. I want to try to be more “in control” this time, let’s see. 🙂

    • Eu parei de ler la pelos 6 meses, porque achei tudo muito confuso, muitas opinioes diferentes. Resolvi meio que fazer o que minha razao e meu coracao diziam, com algumas poucas influencias. Mas essas coisas mudam o tempo todo e a pobre da mae, ja confusa, fica perdidinha.

Leave a Reply

