The British commute

Standard

Millions of people commute into London every day, to work mainly, but also to study and for leisure. Some people brave over two hours on the train, each way, sometimes using two or three means of transport (car, bus, train, tube). The ones who do this for too long now don’t even feel it anymore; it’s almost like turning the autopilot on.

Londoners have the fame of being rude and unfriendly, especially on public transport, but when you live this commuter life for long, you understand where they come from.

The long journeys are the “me time” that most of us don’t have, because we spend most of our day with other people at work and the rest with our other halves and kids. I firmly believe everybody needs some me time/ quiet time; some more than others, some might not realise, but they do need it!

These two weeks I’ve been going to work on my own I realise how much I missed it. Sometimes all I do is sleep. I close my eyes and dream about random stuff (not work or family related, believe it or not). I also like to take notice on people – some familiar faces, some new ones. Some like to read, some like to listen to music/podcasts/ebooks, some sleep, some look at the horizon. But some like to talk and some bring their kids with them – and it is when you can see some (loners) very annoyed by “the noise”.

It makes me smile, because I’m on both sides. I like the quiet mornings but I have a noisy child to drop off at the nursery. It’s just life, I suppose, and you can’t please everyone. But at least that image of the British people being so grumpy that I had when I got here has gone completely. I became one of them. 😉

8 responses »

  1. Meusanto, Chris, que post mais liiiiindo. Amei com todas as minhas forças. Você soube colocar em palavras uma realidade que só quem vive essa rotina sabe explicar. Lindo, lindo, lindo! Parabéns, MESMO! 🙂

  2. Nossa Chris que coincidência, agorinha estava saindo de Paddington e tinha uma comoção de turistas na saída, um monte de gente parada e tal. Fui ver e era um imenso de um arco-íris, todo mundo tirando foto… passa uma commuter no meio, irritada que tava todo mundo no meio do caminho e fala “it’s just a fucking rainbow!” hahahaha Adorei!

  3. Eu vivo exaaatamente a mesma coisa aqui do outro lado do mundo, em SP! Eu moro no interior e trabalho na capital, são 2 horas pra ir e 2 pra voltar (ônibus e metrô). Eu sinto a mesma coisa!! É um tempo meu, pra ler, dormir, assistir série no tablet… ouvir musica… e só! Não só acostumei com isso como acho que não é tempo perdido como muita gente aqui fala (ninguém entende como eu posso morar em outra cidade e vir e voltar todo dia). É o meu tempo!

    • A vida moderna nao nos permite ter tempo soh pra gente – vejo como algumas pessoas nao curtem nem encontrar conhecidos no trem, porque elas querem realmente ficar em silencio, ler, etc. Minha “mamata” de 2 semanas acabou, 2a volto ao normal.

Leave a Reply

