Aaaaaaargh!

Standard

Mondays are normally my bad mood day of the week, but after a few bad nights of sleep, it doesn’t really matter what day of the week you are on, right?

Can I say that the 2nd day of dummy free Laura wasn’t as good as hoped? I think she was too attached to her dummy and she is missing it slightly too much. I feel sorry for her, I really feel. All I want is to give up and let her have that stupid thing, What harm can it make? Slow her speech? She talks a lot and she can make herself clear when she wants to! Low her self-confidence? She seems to be pretty alright there. When is the right time to stop it? Is there a right time or is it something like potty training: wait until the kid is ready? I hate to think that I might be torturing her by removing one of the thins she loves the most in life. Unfortunately she doesn’t like cuddly toys, she couldn’t care less.

At the nursery they think we should just persist with it that eventually she will forget about it. I’m sure she will; I don’t know any adult that still sucks a dummy. But I know an adult that sucks her thumb, at the age of 21. The reason why we decided to go with it now is because we don’t want her to be dependent on the dummy when her baby sister arrives. And I didn’t want to take her dummy away around that time either – too much for her. I just hate to see her feeling so miserable as she is feeling in the morning and evenings. She didn’t sleep well at all, neither did we.

********

Baby 2 is moving a lot as I write this. I’m now off the scared mode (yes, I was scared of having a second one and freaking out, I think I mentioned it a million times) and started on the excited mode. I can’t wait to hold little baby 2 (who has no name yet) in my arms, that tiny little human being, that will be half of the size of her big sister. I can even picture her face, with the same big cheeks that Laura has, maybe the same dark hair, but very gentle and quiet, and happy and hungry, and just tiny. I love tiny babies.

********

So I decided not to buy any extra winter clothes to take to Romania. Not sure if it was very wise, but the thing is: I don’t have space for any big winter jackets that I will only wear for a week. In less than four days we will be on a plane to Cluj, where hubby hopes he will be able to ski a bit. And I’m hoping I won’t think about work at all for a a whole week. Note to self: take the camera and the charger and TAKE PHOTOS, lots of photos.

********

I have such a boring project at work that I can’t help but think that in three months time I’ll be at home. I also found out that a girl that just joined the company is leaving because the work wasn’t exactly what she expected. Isn’t it funny that in the past candidates had to be creative and pretend they had certain experiences that they hadn’t to get their dream job (sometimes just to get A job), but these days companies are creating a fake role that doesn’t really match the reality and when you actually get the job, you realise that they sold you the wrong product.

I know that in some cases it’s the employee that will shape the role, but I’m talking about something totally different here. I have a few examples myself, where I specifically asked if X was part of the job spec, I was told that “NO WAY!!! NEVER” and it ended up taking a big chunk of my daily work because “you know, things change”. Yeah, things change and I changed my mind about this job, goodbye. This colleague at work managed to get a new job, which is really great, but some people don’t have the same luck and have to stay at the “wrong” job until they find something better – or just different.

********

I decided I don’t need a new job: I need to learn something new. I need a hobby. I need something to empty my mind of all the problems of the world (especially my little world). I just need to start somewhere. And I’ll start by going out for lunch.

One response »

  1. My biggest worry with dummies is the teeth impact and how they move it around and could be impacting on having straight tooth. Not sure how much the impact would be truth though…

Leave a Reply

