On food, pregnancy, toddlers and dummies

Standard

My head is spinning with loads going on… random thoughts and ideas and since writing helps to empty my head, I’ll just throw some random stuff here – not everything has to do with the thoughts disturbing my mind. I am so ready to go on maternity leave NOW. On the other hand, I think it’s crazy that I still have 3 months and a bit to go and I have all my 12 months maternity leave planned! Yes, you read it correctly – my life in the next 15 months is all “sorted”. I’m on week 25 now (as of Saturday), which means around the 6th month? Appetite came at full blast but my stomach cannot handle all the food I want to eat. I was never a massive breakfast fan on weekdays, but I promise you: I’m eating like there’s no tomorrow since 6.30am.

So what does the preggie lady eat?

I normally drink a cup of milk-and-chocolate before leaving the house, just to avoid being sick on the train (either because I ate too much or too little). Sometimes, if I have time, I also eat a toast. Then at work, I have either (another) toast, croissant or pain-au-chocolat AND a bowl of cereal with yogurt and honey (sometimes I add some berries too). Then I had lunch at midday! Apart from chicken, I’ve been eating the same sort of meat I used to eat before (well, fish, pork and beef, that is), avoiding a bit raw salads but not much as I don’t like cooked salad, and that’s it. I eat a lot, but not a great variety. By the evening, I’m still full and sick and can’t eat much more than a glass of milk and a toast. I’m eating loads of chocolate!!! Not sure why… Oh, and as with the 1st pregnancy, I’ve been very thirsty, but I can’t drink a lot – I feel bloated and very sick. With water. Exactly.

Tummy is growing, and I hope baby is growing as well. Weight-wise, I haven’t put on much yet, but I’m scared of the next 3 months and a bit. The last trimester is always the worst in terms of weight gain and my aim is to keep it as no more than 5kg (10lbs), hopefully less. Wish me luck!

Little Laura’s new challenges

After a successful potty training period – not 100% successful, because she is still wearing nappies to sleep and sometimes the nappy is very wet – we now started the off dummy period. We only started on Sunday – the dummy fairy brought her a present in return of Laura giving away all her dummies to the fairy. We went to Toys R Us and she had lots of fun there – it’s amazing how, at this age, they want to play, not take things home. Maybe it’s influence of the nursery, where she has loads of toys, but they all stay there. So she picked up a Doc McStuffins Doctors bag set. (the link is for the Disney Store website, which is cheaper than at Toys R Us). I thought it was quite expensive for a little gift for giving up her dummy but thinking about how much she loves her dummy… well, it’s a fair trade. I love sleeping with at least 2 large pillows (at least!) and I would have a massive problem giving them up – no fairy would buy me with a toy, I tell you.

So, how was the first dummy free day? She asked for the dummy a few times, but we kept reminding her of the trade and she was ok with it. She slept with her bag and woke up holding it. We forgot it at home – I didn’t even remember of taking it with us – and as soon as we left the train this morning, she asked for her purple bag of toys and from then it was crying non-stop. Same cry when she wants her dummy but she doesn’t have it. Yes, I did feel sorry for her – Monday, nursery, sleepy, no dummy, no toy, all at once. She didn’t want to let me go when we got to the nursery, but I’m sure she is now fine and playing with her little friends. Let’s give her a couple of weeks and I’m sure she will be fine. On the dummy front, I still find a lost one around the house!

The next 15 months

The plan as it stands is to stop working last week of April, take 4 days off to go somewhere (somewhere was Disneyland Paris, but we got stuck with a little train issue). My mum and partner arrive the following weekend for a couple of months, then my in-laws will come as well, then we will be on our own a little bit, to get to know baby 2, while Laura will go to a local pre-school on a part time basis. I also want to put them both in swimming classes – especially Laura. Then the plan is to go to Brazil in summer (there) for a month or two, just mum and babies (ouch) and come back with my mum for another month. Then back to work and to feeling miserable for leaving my two little girls behind. Simple, right?

Why are the weekends flying and the week dragging on?

If you find the answer, please let me know!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Expect the unexpected « Miss Lazy has a, ops, two babies

Leave a Reply

On food, pregnancy, toddlers and dummies

Standard

My head is spinning with loads going on… random thoughts and ideas and since writing helps to empty my head, I’ll just throw some random stuff here – not everything has to do with the thoughts disturbing my mind. I am so ready to go on maternity leave NOW. On the other hand, I think it’s crazy that I still have 3 months and a bit to go and I have all my 12 months maternity leave planned! Yes, you read it correctly – my life in the next 15 months is all “sorted”. I’m on week 25 now (as of Saturday), which means around the 6th month? Appetite came at full blast but my stomach cannot handle all the food I want to eat. I was never a massive breakfast fan on weekdays, but I promise you: I’m eating like there’s no tomorrow since 6.30am.

So what does the preggie lady eat?

I normally drink a cup of milk-and-chocolate before leaving the house, just to avoid being sick on the train (either because I ate too much or too little). Sometimes, if I have time, I also eat a toast. Then at work, I have either (another) toast, croissant or pain-au-chocolat AND a bowl of cereal with yogurt and honey (sometimes I add some berries too). Then I had lunch at midday! Apart from chicken, I’ve been eating the same sort of meat I used to eat before (well, fish, pork and beef, that is), avoiding a bit raw salads but not much as I don’t like cooked salad, and that’s it. I eat a lot, but not a great variety. By the evening, I’m still full and sick and can’t eat much more than a glass of milk and a toast. I’m eating loads of chocolate!!! Not sure why… Oh, and as with the 1st pregnancy, I’ve been very thirsty, but I can’t drink a lot – I feel bloated and very sick. With water. Exactly.

Tummy is growing, and I hope baby is growing as well. Weight-wise, I haven’t put on much yet, but I’m scared of the next 3 months and a bit. The last trimester is always the worst in terms of weight gain and my aim is to keep it as no more than 5kg (10lbs), hopefully less. Wish me luck!

Little Laura’s new challenges

After a successful potty training period – not 100% successful, because she is still wearing nappies to sleep and sometimes the nappy is very wet – we now started the off dummy period. We only started on Sunday – the dummy fairy brought her a present in return of Laura giving away all her dummies to the fairy. We went to Toys R Us and she had lots of fun there – it’s amazing how, at this age, they want to play, not take things home. Maybe it’s influence of the nursery, where she has loads of toys, but they all stay there. So she picked up a Doc McStuffins Doctors bag set. (the link is for the Disney Store website, which is cheaper than at Toys R Us). I thought it was quite expensive for a little gift for giving up her dummy but thinking about how much she loves her dummy… well, it’s a fair trade. I love sleeping with at least 2 large pillows (at least!) and I would have a massive problem giving them up – no fairy would buy me with a toy, I tell you.

So, how was the first dummy free day? She asked for the dummy a few times, but we kept reminding her of the trade and she was ok with it. She slept with her bag and woke up holding it. We forgot it at home – I didn’t even remember of taking it with us – and as soon as we left the train this morning, she asked for her purple bag of toys and from then it was crying non-stop. Same cry when she wants her dummy but she doesn’t have it. Yes, I did feel sorry for her – Monday, nursery, sleepy, no dummy, no toy, all at once. She didn’t want to let me go when we got to the nursery, but I’m sure she is now fine and playing with her little friends. Let’s give her a couple of weeks and I’m sure she will be fine. On the dummy front, I still find a lost one around the house!

The next 15 months

The plan as it stands is to stop working last week of April, take 4 days off to go somewhere (somewhere was Disneyland Paris, but we got stuck with a little train issue). My mum and partner arrive the following weekend for a couple of months, then my in-laws will come as well, then we will be on our own a little bit, to get to know baby 2, while Laura will go to a local pre-school on a part time basis. I also want to put them both in swimming classes – especially Laura. Then the plan is to go to Brazil in summer (there) for a month or two, just mum and babies (ouch) and come back with my mum for another month. Then back to work and to feeling miserable for leaving my two little girls behind. Simple, right?

Why are the weekends flying and the week dragging on?

If you find the answer, please let me know!

Leave a Reply

