Creme caramel recipe (aka Pudim de Leite Condensado)

Standard
Yum yum

Yum yum

So, for the New Year, I baked this amazing creme caramel desert. I’m very picky and critical with my own cooking, so if I tell you that it was one of the best creme caramel I had, believe me, it was really good. It’s a very sweet desert, but still very yummy.

I got the recipe from the website The Cookie Shop, the woman is a genius in the kitchen. I “adapted” it a little (it was more being lazy to do a couple of things she suggested) and the result was still amazing. Also, I reduce the ingredients by half (apart from the sugar), as I wanted a smaller desert. I tried making this desert before, but previously, instead of using just the egg yolks I used the whole egg. Not sure if this was what made it better, but I’ll never use whole eggs again.

So here is the translation of her recipe (check the original one if you speak/read Portuguese):

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 3 yolks
  • 1 can of sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 can (use the condensed milk one) of full fat milk, a little bit less than the full can
  • She suggested adding a pinch of salt and maybe this helps making it less sweet – I didn’t add it, but I don’t care it being sweet.
  • 1 tea spoon of vanilla extract (optional – I didn’t use it)

Preheat the oven at  200°C. Melt the sugar in a heavy saucepan over low heat, stirring constantly. Once the sugar becomes a golden brown syrup after about 10 minutes, pour it immediately into a round baking dish, swirling so that the syrup coats all sides of the dish. Set aside to cool. (Alternatively you could melt the sugar straight into the round baking dish, BUT BE CAREFUL, CARAMEL BURNS REALLY BADLY (I did get burned). Let it cool. Fill a roasting pan with boiling water to reach halfway up the sides of the baking dish.

In a blender, mix all the ingredients until all ingredients are combined. Pour the mixture into the dish with the caramel and cover it with a foil paper and place the dish in the roasting tray with boiling water.

Bake it until it’s firm (you can check by inserting a knife and if it comes out clean, it’s done) – it can take between 1h- 1h30. The center of the desert will still be soft. Allow flan to cool in the fridge for about 6 hours before unmolding onto a plate. Keep it refrigerated until time to service and enjoy it.

6 responses »

  1. This is my favorite dessert ever! I can’t wait to try this recipe. I love that you give us the Portuguese version of the name – golden! Spanish is my native language so I can probably read Portuguese, but I’m going to try your version…did you say you did or didn’t use the whole eggs when you made yours?

      • I will. I’ll try it with the just the egg yolk. Even though they say once you’re pregnant you can eat whatever you want I still want to maintain my healthy eating habits, knowing that I do have a tiny bit more room for a yummy dessert here and there – guilt free!

  2. Pingback: Bruges, sleepless nights and banana cake | Miss Lazy has a, ops, two babies

Leave a Reply

