Happy 2013!

Standard

I’m not a Christmas person, but I love New Year! I love love love simply love the feeling of getting out with the old, bringing in the new. New possibilities, new opportunities to fix what is wrong, making better what has gone right. New new new, new is so good! New smells nice, feels right, is bright!

And I love looking back and looking ahead and I love all the planning. It’s true that I get tired of the new year pretty soon, and by March/April I had enough, but it doesn’t matter.

Of course the most important thing in 2012 is that we are alive, healthy and happy. Mr C and I have our jobs, which we sometimes complain about, but we like what we are doing and they pay the bills. We share dreams and plans and we want the best for both of us and for our kids. Laura is growing beautifully. They say time flies but I swear I am enjoying every moment of her development. We are not rushing her, we let her be and in return, she is… is growing up adorably. What else can I as for?

I do ask a lot though, but just because I love making plans. πŸ™‚

*********

So Laura is slowing getting rid of the nappies. I must say I was scared of this new step, but now that I am at home and can actually encourage her and clean after the mess, I’m enjoying it. It’s quite funny to see all the cheering whenever she pees in the potty. She is also having fun and this is such a big deal for her. From time to time we hear from her mouth “Laura is a big girl now”.

Today we heard for the first time “I can do it myself”. Myself wasn’t part of her vocabulary and we loved hearing it. She has a sense of self that grows by the day – more and more “Laula (sic) is/wants/does” is being replaced by “I am/want/do”. It’s just so amazing to experience this.

One of the things I am in love with at the moment is how she likes telling stories. She places the books like the ladies at the nursery do – facing “the audience” and starts telling her version. She starts with “Once upon a time”, which is more like “there’s a time” or something similar, and starts… every page starts with a “Then…”. It is the cutest thing EVER!!!

She is also in that phase of asking a lot, but all the questions are “what’s that?”. In some cases, she knows exactly what it is, but still she asks. Sometimes it can be annoying, but we try to make sure to always answer her questions. And sometimes we also ask her the same question to listen to her point of view.

Another super cute thing that I think I mentioned before: she doesn’t like anything anymore, she loves everything. She loves books, she loves potatoes, she loves painting, she loves olives, she loves computer, she loves supermarket, she loves lemonade,… and she loves some pretty strange things, like whatever new word she learns from asking the question I mention above (“beer”, “monster”, “bath”, “potty”, etc).

She loves all her new toys – and they are fun to play together too. She has been playing quite a lot with most of them, but it’s interesting to see how her favourite activity at the moment is painting. She loves it! I’m terrified that she might paint the wrong thing (TV, walls, carpet), but so far, all the damage has been mild.

She isn’t only a clever and cute little girl – she is so sweet. She has her tough moments, of course, but I can’t believe how lucky we are. For two days in a row she doesn’t want to have her afternoon nap (maybe because I don’t keep her tired enough) but she has been in the bedroom with us while we nap. No, she is not quiet all the time, but she is not noisy or annoying. She actually stays in bed for a long time, quietly waiting for time to wake up. Same in the mornings – we have been able to sleep until 8am or later just because she patiently waits until one of us go there (or when she has enough or is too hungry). Oh, and she doesn’t leave her bed to come to ours!! And she – most of the time – listens and obeys when we talk to her and give some instruction. Her naughty moments are perfectly normal and only drive us nuts when we are tired and worn down. Then again, anything can get to our nerves, right?

************

Not sure if I will post again until the end of year, so let me wish you all an amazing 2013 – may next year bring you lots of great moments! Keep your focus on things that really matters to you and your loved ones. It will be “another” year if you make it this way, but it can be “the” year if you want to. No pressure!

One response »

  1. Funny how I don’t like New Years and was going to write about it soon too! Is nice to see your entusiam about it and get the energy injection! Laura is awesome, ’nuff said! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

