Don’t you love long weekends?

Standard

Today is a bank holiday in the UK. These are rare, so we have to make the most of them. Actually, this is the last bank holiday until Christmas! Thank goodness I have holidays in October, otherwise I would go crazy.

I’m also working today. Right now I’m on a Skype call with the US, Canada and Russia. Great, uh?

Nevermind, we had an amazing weekend, despite the weather (not as bad as I expected).

Here is our weekend in pictures:

20120827-161211.jpg

Getting ready to go out (shopping, having lunch)

20120827-161232.jpg

Cutting the “Christmas” tree down. It’s leaves are too spiky and they hurt. It will be replaced by an apple tree.

20120827-161243.jpg

The tree at the back is going away too!

20120827-161255.jpg

Looking at replacing most of the trees with fruit trees.

20120827-161304.jpg

The idea is to have all this area covered in colourful flowers.

The weekend has also seen some cooking. I’m on a diet and when I’m on a diet, I get anxious and when I get anxious I like to cook.

20120827-161328.jpg

I baked a cake (below) – butter free as I don’t have butter (or margerine) at home. (that’s the second cake in 4 days, the first one was a cornflour cake). And I added a “brigadeiro” topping (condensed milk + chocolate).

It was quite popular – it didn’t even cool down and it’s half gone. Recipe later.

20120827-161338.jpg

It wasn’t all about desserts; today we had spinash & pouched egg and gratin potatoes (with roasted chicken) for lunch. It was improvised but yummy. Gratin potatoes are pretty easy to make and are a great alternative to plain roast potatoes (careful if you are on a diet!).

20120827-161355.jpg

Hope you all had great weekend and were up to something fun! Share if you dare. 😉

Leave a Reply

