Nothing special, just me being me

Standard

On the train back home, this guy sat next to me. It was one of those 3 seat rows and he was in the middle. The guy was big. Big as in tall and big as in fat. Fat to the point that half of his leg was on mine and half of this arm was on me. If I was cold, it would have been nice. If I knew the guy, I would have probably leaned on him and slept. I have absolutely nothing against fat (or in this case, obese) people. I don’t feel sorry for them, I don’t dislike them. I think people are much more than their physical appearance, and normally fat people are extremely sweet and have a great sense of humour. I’m not slim. I might not be totally obese (you might be surprise to know that my BMI is quite high and got very close to the obese limit), but I will never be slim.

Back to my point: nothing against fat (or skinny) people. But a few months ago I was a bit annoyed with a piece of news on TV, where an obese lady was defending her right to be fat and that people should accept it. Not only that – she was claiming the right to have TWO seats on tube or trains because she was big. And she was having a go at a doctor that was trying to tell her that being fat is not an issue as long as you are healthy – but normally obese people are part of a high risk group. And she was also outraged when the doctor suggested that obese people that refused to treat themselves were also expensive to the country, as there is a great number of people suffering from deceases caused by obesity. Dude, honestly? Is it too hard to understand that? It’s like smokers that think that they can smoke, don’t want to stop, and the world should adjust to their needs. And when they fall ill, they demand that the health system treat them.

I can’t stand selfish people. I’m totally fine with obese, smokers, anorexic, drug addicts… that seek help and treatment and I’m totally fine that these treatments are funded by my taxes. I’m not fine with the stupid fat woman saying that she will be fat, she has the right to be fat, she will eat the world just to be fatter, that the train companies need to provide bigger seats or double seats for people that want to be fat and then seek public service to treat her heart attack because of her fat.

P.S.: I’m talking about REAL OBESE people, not chubby people.

*******

Yesterday I watched a show about a sub-celebrity (Claire Richards) dubbed “the world’s most famous yo-yo dieter”. Basically the show is her attempt to lose weight and keep fit, but as with most compulsive eaters, she cannot stay away of food and she eats until she gets sick.

I’m not a fan of this sort of show – reality shows featuring celebrities I have never heard of – but I have to confess that I thought that the girl is naturally sympathetic and funny (as opposed to scripted sympathetic and funny, if you know what I mean).

*******

I’m paranoid about my body. I think I’m obese (I’m not), I want to lose a lot of weight (but I can’t follow my stupid diet), I’m not happy with my looks. I do what all chubby girls do: eat a Big Mac (or equivalent, as I don’t eat at MacDonald’s) with a diet Coke. While I was still at the old job, I had a pack of sweeteners for my coffee. I was shocked impressed with the amount of people that didn’t have a clue what the heck the sweetener was. They used to call it my “special sugar”. And a couple of people asked me what it was for. Helloz? 21st century? London, one of the biggest cities in the world?

But, yeah, it is very hard to go on a rigid diet here if you have a sweet tooth.

*******

I had two days off in between jobs. They were brilliant days. But being at home also means that all sort of people knock at your door. One of these days, Naomi knocked. She is a 19 year old Nigerian girl, very pretty, with amazing skin and slightly Asian eyes. She is very chatty and shows interest in people and their life experiences. Naomi works as a volunteer for Practical Action, a charity that helps people in Bangladesh, Sudan and Nepal. The organization she represents uses simple but effective solutions that give the local people means to maintain themselves. So instead of giving the fish, they teach them how to catch them. Naomi was very passionate about it and researched a lot about these places and their costumes. Not only that, she is a good listener and learned a lot from my neighbours. One of the nice things about the UK is that you find a lot of people that love to travel to different places and learn about their culture. People that go to Thailand to spend 6 months travelling across the country, but not only for the beaches. It’s one of the main things I like about Europeans, especially the nordics (maybe it’s their Viking spirit). Anyhoo, Naomi was telling me about my neighbour’s experiences in Nepal, Bangladesh and Sudan. Isn’t it ironic that I find out about my neighbours’ travel experiences through a student from somewhere near Coventry? The other interesting thing that Naomi told me is that Practical Action also helps university students that work for them, for example: engineer students can help the charity by coming up with projects to be implemented in those countries. In Naomi’s case, she said that working for the charity is helping her with her communication skills, as she wants to work with PR. Some people might argue that the charity is exploiting these students, but I like Naomi’s positive attitude of learning with this experience. She sat on my living room floor and we chatted for about an hour. In the end I sponsored floating gardens in Bangladesh.

******

Despite extremely tired, I’m loving my new job. My tiredness has nothing to do with the job – the environment is very relaxed, people don’t work under pressure, everybody is in a good mood… Today we had a team barbecue and the whole Global Entertainment team left at 3pm! Free booze & food. I had to leave early to collect Laura, but still managed to eat some ribs with potatoes and have a coke.

But this is not the reason (at least not the main reason) I’m loving my job. They see me there as a very experienced person that has a lot to add to the team. But in fact it is a new job, different from everything I’ve done before, and I am learning and will continue to learn a lot. My manager is giving me time to get into my role – I’ll have a couple of weeks to go through materials and reports and to meet internal people. There is nothing extremely urgent to do. I have a Christmas project that I’m already working on and I’ll have to start working on the plans for 2012 and 2013 soon, but it’s so unusual to have time to do things.

Another positive thing about this job is that I have support. The team coordinator helps me so so much – not just to adjust to the company, but she is managing my diary (!!!!), sorting out log in details to the systems, arranging hardwares I might need, etc. And she does it all with the biggest smile in the world, like it is a true pleasure to help. I love her already. My manager is also a sweetheart – isn’t it great when you like your boss?

Anyway, I’m feeling very comfortable there and also very excited about my projects. I’ve been thinking and planning a lot and meeting with loads of people – each meeting gives me more food for thought and sometimes my head hurts with so many ideas coming of it.

******

It’s late and I better go to bed. We will have another tough night, as little baby having really bad coughs and waking up every 30 minutes. I feel for her and can’t wait to come the weekend and spend the day taking care of her.

Despite these little issues (runny nose and cough – blame the nursery that insists in keeping the kids outdoors in the cold weather. Fresh air my ass!), this has been her best week so far at the nursery. She is loving it, doesn’t cry, doesn’t need the dummy, is eating extremely well. BUT (there’s always a but, right?), she reduced her two 30-minute naps (sometimes a 30 min and a 1 hour) to ONE 40-50 minute afternoon nap. Of course she comes home exhausted, but she can’t relax. She wants to explore the house and play with me as much as she can. Who can blame an almost 16 months old child for wanting to be awake? Exploring the world at this age must be fantastic!

*******

Night-night

2 responses »

  1. Agree. You’re fat (or a smoker, or anything like this) because you want to, so face the consequences, like having a seat too small for your size (or not being able to smoke in restaurants). As I’ve said before, I rarely feel sorry for anyone.
    Hope Laura gets better from her cough. Since she won’t keep her duvet on, why don’t you get an electrical mattress cover? I don’t know how it’s called in there, but it’s worked great for Lia in São Paulo. The bed would stay warm all night and we’d worry less about her being cold. Think about it.

  2. Na verdade o problema é esse mesmo, pessoas espaçosas e folgadas. Nada a ver com gordos e obesos. Tal negócio, meu direito termina onde começa o seu.
    ***********************
    Hahahaha nunca terem ouvido em adoçante realmente é o pior!!

    Acho que por sermos brasileiras a pressão é maior ainda! Mas precisamos é ficar de olho no BMI, é nisso que tenho me apoiado e chegando lá sabemos que estaremos no saudável!
    Sinto que quanto mais pressionamos pra emagrecer pior é e mais queremos comer o que não pode 😦

    *************************
    Escolhi a Practical Action pra minha doação mensal =D
    ****************************
    Ah, tão feliz que o trampo tá indo bem, você merece depois de toda caca que teve que engolir no emprego anterior!
    ****************************
    Ahhh, if only babies knew how much we would like to be able to sleep lots and lots like then can! =)

Leave a Reply

