I love technology

Standard

I said a few times, but it’s always worth repenting it: I’m not a consumist person – especially for a woman. Maybe I’m more conscientious about the value of money and not wasting it with unnecessary items than consumerism, but that’s not the point of this post.

The point is although not really into spending loads of money with unnecessary things (meaning buying the super duper new TV equipment to watch football once in a lifetime), I’m impressed easily with technology. Ok, nothing new here, but we bought this new TV (it was something that I wanted really, but just because I wanted a flat TV as opposed to the huge bulky one we had) and we can now connect our laptops to it and watch stuff (say, films) on the big screen. It’s silly because this is something that TVs do for ages now, but when you have an old TV for 5 years, you kinda forget what the new gadgets are capable of. Like my old laptop, that I have since September 2005 (and at the time, it was a simple one, not the latest model). Small screen, no camera, nothing. Mr. C has a nicer one and I hate my laptop now.

There’s still a lot to learn about this TV, but I’m loving it – mind you, it stays off most of the time when I’m at home. I don’t seem to find anything that really attracks me on TV or I just can’t be bothered to spend my time with TV shows (unlike blogs).

And since we are talking about spending/buying, here is the list of things I have in mind for the future (I’m still trying to convince myself that they are necessary and only after that I can try to convince Mr. C – it takes two to tango):

* A bigger car – not necessarily a new one, but one that we can fit the pram in as well as the two of us and the baby and the car seat.

* A Mac Book – it’s cool

* A nice set of sofa, a new mattress, two chest o drawers, store units, a barbecue set, those outdoors heating things, two fireplaces for the living room, shower enclosures for both bathrooms, a set of cooking pan, a couple of fitted wardrobes.

* A hammock

It’s not much, is it? ๐Ÿ˜‰

3 responses »

  1. Ai, Chris, se voce visse o tamanho da listinha que eu acabei de fazer no Excel (soh baby related), vc cairia pra tras. Alem desta, tem tambem a lista de compras pra casa nova. E olha que meu “eu” consumista anda adormecido faz anos!
    Oh well, soh posso te dizer que sua listinha eh hiper singela: Go for it! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Beijoca

  2. I think we are allowed to want stuff from time to time, we are not big spenders in any shape or form, so go for it without feeling the guilt her ๐Ÿ˜‰ You deserve them all! xx

Leave a Reply

