New Year’s resolutions

Standard

I decided not to have any resolutions for 2010. It’s pretty frustrating to get to the end of the year and realise you haven’t achived half of what you planned.

I can’t remember if I had resolutions for 2009, but I have to say that the year was quite quiet. It was a year of maintanance and little new “news”. And the new news wasn’t really planned.

In 2009, I was promoted at work (as expected), travelled a little (less than planned), renewed the rent of our actual flat (not ideal, but needed), I got my British driving license, exercised more than usual (still not enough), we finally went to Brazil together, and on the unexpected note, we are expecting a baby.

So, without making any plans for 2010 (although putting in writing adds a bit of formality to an unformal list), I have some stuff in mind. Having a baby doesn’t count – it’s no longer a resolution – and I heard it’s quite hard to have a life on your own when the little ones get, so it’s a hard task to think of something to accomplish along the year. Let me think…

ok, here it goes:

* I want to loose all the extra kilos I will put on during pregnancy (I’m not even saying I’m going to loose the extra ones I was trying to loose before pregnancy). Baby comes in May, so I have 7 months.
* I want to continue active after the baby is born (how? how? how? how?).
* I won’t abandon the blog completely.
* I will go out more for walks and get fresh air, with the baby of course.
* I’ll be more patient (I’ll have to).
* I’ll sleep less (any choice?).
* I’ll eat more fruits.
* I won’t go crazy like first moms and will keep my daily routine of eating, having showers, doing the laundry (HAHAHAHAHA).
* I’ll take more pictures.

I guess this is more than enough. Let’s see how it goes during the year.

2 responses »

  1. I don’t think you need to worry too much about no 2, 4 and 6..:).. No 1 is tricky if you want to loose it ALL in 7 months…It basically depends on 2 things: how much you’ll put on and if you are going to breastfeed exclusively. 10 kg will be super easy. If u plan to breastfeed, then you’ll get hungry, really hungry and most women eat about another 500 calories a day until the baby goes on solid food (a bit less after starting solids) which can be anywhere from 4 to 6/7 months…I personally think it’s great to breastfeed one year at least – but that of course it’s up to you.
    5 more moths!:)

  2. Well, but what I saw with Guta, being active will be the least of your worries and you’ll be all about the baby when she arrives. Wait and see and don’t put too much pressure on yourself. You are bount to feel knackered once she is here and I bet you won’t care one bit. But, if you do feel like doing something, why not get the personal trainer at yours or I can always burn some DVDs with Tae Bo for you 🙂 x x x x

Leave a Reply

